Travel

Amsterdam, Netherlands

Ah, Amsterdam. The city ever so famous for it’s… fault in our stars references … amongst other “legal” things … 😉

FullSizeRender

This was the first time I’ve been to the Netherlands, and having heard so much about it, I had very high expectations going. And I’ve got to say, man, it did not disappoint. The artistic heritage that the city captures, with the canals and narrow housing down every alleyway, was just like how the movies pictured it to be. Needless to say, it was truly breath-taking (even if the air smelt like weed 70% of the time).

We chose specifically to go during the month of April because the world famous tulip festival was being held then as it was the season for the tulips to be at full bloom. We had a little bit of a hiccup in the beginning as the weather forecast seemed to predict that it would be cold and gloomy for the entire 3 days we were there, so whilst planning our itinerary,  we decided to put off the tulip festival until our last day there and prayed for mother nature to miraculously change her mind.

TOP TIP #1: ALWAYS HAVE A LIST/ITINERARY OF ALL THE PLACES YOU WANT TO VISIT BEFOREHAND. Research all the main tourist attractions or places you want to hit up and list them down. If you don’t already know me, I am a VERY VERY organized freak (slight hint of OCD) so Im the type of person who NEEDS to do a ton of planning beforehand. In order to make the holiday smoother, I like to see whereabouts the attractions I want to hit up are and whether there are any other places/sights nearby. This way, you can plan to see all the ones close by each other on one day, and the ones further away on a separate day in order to save transport cost by going back and forth. AND it also save a whole ton of time!

DAY 1:

Our flight from Prague to Amsterdam arrived pretty late in the afternoon. (If you haven’t already read my Prague blog post, click here).  It took a while to find our hostel as it was quite hidden. We made the mistake of booking the cheapest hostel we could find, and although it wasn’t THAT bad, I wished we would’ve gone with an AirBnB instead. It was… quite the experience (to say the least ) to stay in a very tight, confined room with 8 people in 4 bunkbeds. AND to make it more fun, we had to share ONE shower and a bathroom with 40 other strangers on the same floor.  For me, I was very uneasy about this because sharing a shower & bathroom with COMPLETE STRANGERS and the thought of seeing dirt or hair particles on the walls or sink.. EUUGGHHH *shudders* lets move on.

TOP TIP #2: DO NOT ALWAYS PICK THE CHEAPEST OPTION WHEN IT COMES TO ACCOMODATION. CHECK THOROUGHLY FIRST. We regretted passing up the opportunity to stay in a boat house AirBnB! It was literally a house, on a boat, ON THE SIDE OF THE CANAL! It would’ve been such a cool experience, and the price was not far off from the hostel we stayed in, but for some reason we ended up going with the hostel instead. *facepalm* 

Anyway, we spent the rest of the afternoon wandering through the streets of Amsterdam and exploring (A.K.A. getting lost) in the alleyways of canals.

IMG_9831
How majestic is this?!
IMG_9832
We found the fault in our stars bench! (yes it was actually on google maps as “fault in our stars bench”)

IMG_9833IMG_9839

IMG_9844
The weather was on point when we arrived!

IMG_9858IMG_9864

IMG_3882
I mean.. how is this even real life?
IMG_9868
Looking for our Ansel Elgort

IMG_9877

IMG_9881
People actually left love locks on this bench, it was the cutest thing! “Maybe okay will be our always”

IMG_9884IMG_9888IMG_9889

IMG_9835
We also stopped to grab some famous Holland fries! It was pretty good, although I’m not a fan of thick cut fries

We also went to see the Red Light District (which I was completely unaware of its existence and refused to believe it until I saw it with my own eyes) and it was… interesting … to say the least hahaha! No photos taken for obvious reasons (:

FUN FACT: Also I found out that “coffee shops” in Amsterdam aren’t actually COFFEE SHOPS where you sit down for a nice cup of coffee. Instead, it’s a place to buy marijuana or sit down for a nice “brownie” (if you know what I mean). Since it is legal to buy marijuana in Amsterdam, these coffeeshops are legit everywhere, around every corner so you really can’t miss them (if not, just follow the smell which trust me, it’s not that pleasant).

DAY 2:

So on this day, we decided to go to Zaanse Schans which is a gorgeous Dutch windmill village on the outskirts of Amsterdam. We took a train down, and then walked a few miles until we reached. It would’ve been easier to cycle but since I am a failure in life and can’t ride a bike, it wasn’t an option for me 😦

Anyways, we underestimated the weather and for some reason didn’t take into account that it would obviously be windy and cold in a WINDmill area, so our dumb selves were freezing our butts off the entire time. But it was so worth it.

IMG_9837
The face of regret when you realise you aren’t wearing enough layers
IMG_9838
Despite the gloomy sky, it was a beaut sight

IMG_9854IMG_9853

IMG_9849
It was a pink house with a pink tree to I had to take a photo in front of it

IMG_9863IMG_9869IMG_9871

IMG_9873
Such a cute little village!
IMG_9874
Cheesin’ through the cold

IMG_9876IMG_9880IMG_9878

IMG_9898
Body warmth
IMG_9834
I still do not know what these shoes are called to this day

IMG_9848

After that, we decided to head back to the city centre and roam around the main tourist attractions like Rijksmuseum and the infamous “IAMSTERDAM” sign. We then did a bit of souvenir shopping and went to a carnival for a bit.

IMG_9836

IMG_9843
Behind the scenes of climbing up and getting that right shot

IMG_9862

I deeply regret not taking more photos of the city centre, but I was actually freezing my butt off and my hands were frozen cold so holding a camera was just a struggle 😦

TOP TIP #3: CHECK THE WEATHER FORECAST BEFOREHAND AND PACK ACCORDINGLY. 

DAY 3:

Now this was one of the main reason why we came to Amsterdam: THE TULIP FESTIVAL! We were all so so so pumped for this but the only thing worrying us was the weather! It was forecasted to be rainy and gloomy so we prayed so so hard the night before, and MOTHER NATURE CAME THROUGH! When we woke up, it was such a beautiful (yet cold) sunny day!

TOP TIP #4: BOOK TRANSPORT AND ENTRANCE TICKETS TOGETHER IF YOU ARE GOING TO GO TO KEUKENHOFF (TULIP GARDENS). We made the mistake of only booking the entrance tickets beforehand and thought we could make our own way there but it turned out to be more hassle than it was worth. We had to go all the way to the airport to buy a bus ticket to Keukenhoff, whereas we could’ve gotten the package that included transports with the tickets and it would’ve worked out cheaper and more convenient too.

It was rainbow paradise and I truly felt like I went died and went to heaven!

IMG_9896IMG_9895IMG_9893

IMG_9894
Yes. We did coordinate our outfits.
IMG_9892
There was a petting zoo!! You best believe I pushed all the kids aside to pet a baby goat!

IMG_9890

IMG_9885
I think something bit me?

IMG_9882IMG_9875IMG_9872IMG_9870IMG_9866

IMG_9867
And here lies a wild Brenda trying to be artistic
IMG_9860
What you don’t see in the photos: the behind the scene action of us all wrapped up after every photo because it was freezing!
IMG_9861
There was legit fields and fields of tulips! I mean WOW

IMG_9859IMG_9856IMG_9852IMG_9850IMG_9847IMG_9841IMG_9842IMG_9845

This was truly the highlight of my trip to Amsterdam. If you ever get a chance, I would HIGHLY recommend going to the tulip festival, its an experience you DO NOT want to miss!

So that’s about it for my trip to Amsterdam! Thanks for reading and please follow for more ❤

-Brenda

82 thoughts on “Amsterdam, Netherlands”

  1. It looks so beautiful and uhh that washroom sharing I was thinking about it while reading whole blog, I my self have experienced that and yes I have to say let’s move on.
    The best thing is that you enjoyed and place took my heart ❤

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Haha aww thats so sweet! I totally get you though, I find it so interesting seeing my home country, Malaysia, in the eyes of a tourist too! 😀 OH! KLOMPEN! THANK YOU! I’ve been wondering what they’ve been called for the longest time hahah!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I’ve been wanting to go to Amsterdam for the longest time and this post just got me even more excited to go one day! Looks like you had an incredible time- the photos turned out amazing. Much love xx Loved this post!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Hi,
    Get all these comments! You have built am engaged community. Congratulations! I almost became a travel blogger since I travel often.
    I have been to Amsterdam and the red light district.
    I met you at Naya’s blog party. I came to meet you.
    Maybe you can check out my blog if you need any blogging tips. That’s what I write about. I also have blog parties like Naya.
    Janice

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Stunning photos as usual. I’ve only been to Amsterdam but your blog post has made me wish I could go back again soon! Looks like there’s so much more to see! 😊

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh no! Im so sorry the weather was not on your side when you visited! But yes Zansee Schans was definitely like a movie set! I hope you get the chance to go visit again! ❤

      Love your blog too, def giving it a follow!

      Like

Leave a comment